Japan Society Book Club: Now You’re One of Us by Asa Nonami

When:
September 14, 2015 @ 7:00 pm
2015-09-14T19:00:00+01:00
2015-09-14T19:30:00+01:00
Where:
The Japan Society
13-14 Cornwall Terrace Mews
Marylebone, London NW1 4QP
UK
Cost:
Free
Contact:
Japan Society
020 3075 1996
Japan Society Book Club: Now You’re One of Us by Asa Nonami @ The Japan Society

In the tradition of Ira Levin’s Rosemary’s Baby, Now You’re One of Us is a new classic about the bride who’s no longer sure what to think. All families have their own rituals, secrets, and credos, like a miniature religious cult; these quirks may elicit the mirth or mild alarm of guests, but the matter is rather more serious if you’re marrying into a household. In this case, some surprising truths lurk around the corner.

The book club is held every month. There is no restriction on the nationality of the authors read, but books should be available in translation in both Japanese and English. The discussion is conducted mainly in English, but you can choose the language in which you read the book. The intention is simple: to explore the themes of the book, express personal opinions on the style and content, discuss how the book has changed (or not) in translation and to have a relaxed discussion with others who have similar interests.

Asa Nonami (乃南アサ Nonami Asa, 1960) uses the mystery genre to write stories that probe deep into the human heart. One day she happened to come across an invitation for submissions to the Japan Mystery and Suspense Grand Prize, sent in her maiden work, and soon became the inaugural winner of the event. The respective winners in the two following years, incidentally, were Miyuki Miyabe and Kaoru Takamura.